Snork

Coming at you from the land of cold medication today! At least, I think I took some. Or maybe that was yesterday, I don’t really remember. (Come to think of it, the fact that I barely remember the past two hours probably means I had some. Mystery solved!) Either way, I am totally out of it and my throat is STILL closed. I sound about 80 years old.

Puzzles! I’ve been doing SO many puzzles! Mom and I started a Mona Lisa jigsaw, but it’s freaking ridiculous. It’s literally all shades of brown and grey. We made her face and hands, and the sky behind her, but the rest of the background is impossible. And I’m learning how to solve a Rubik’s cube. Well, I can already solve it, it just takes a while and I mess up sometimes. But I can pretty reliably do it in 5 minutes! And oh my gosh you guys, there are SO many puzzle games scattered around the internet. You wouldn’t believe me if I told you.

I am annoyed with Toshiba tech support. It is bloody impossible to find a phone number for Canada on their website. USA? Yes. Argentina? Yes. The rest of South America? Of course! Canada? No, why would we need that? It’s not like this website is in the .ca domain or anything, don’t be silly. So we went digging through my warranty info and found it. I went through a few menus, as expected, then was on hold for 15 minutes listening alternately to elevator music and a chipper female voice urging me to buy more products, visit their website, all that good stuff. Then I got a rep, described my problem, and was immediately told that they won’t fix it. I asked if he was sure, and he gave me a huge speech about how it was built to last forever and he had been working with tech for 20 years and had never heard of this problem before, so it HAD to be my fault. I was not impressed. I was not impressed at all. And then he gave me another Toshiba number to call to get it repaired  – at a cost, of course. (Screw that, I’m going to Future Shop.) And you know what really bugs me? The fact that I know he’s probably right. If he hadn’t been so insistent that I absolutely had to be wrong, I would have let it go way sooner. Something probably did damage the cord at some point (I travel a fair bit, so it probably got banged around in my suitcase despite my best efforts), and I can totally accept that…now that I’ve calmed down.

This is why empathetic people can’t rant. We end up admitting we were wrong too and the other guy was just doing his best, which kind of defeats the purpose of spewing venom at a stranger we’ll never meet in person. Curse my ability to understand the perspectives of others! Then again, I do feel better now. A lot better than I would have if I’d yelled at him or something. Alright, I’m at 500 words and I have no idea if it was coherent. Time for a nap…oh wait, I have plans. So, time to go try on jeans! How fun, I’m totally looking forward to it!This is the best day for it. Yes. That’s right. It will be such fun. Such fun.

Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy? 😥

Leave a comment