Gardening adventures

Whoa, hi people! Today I’m going to tell you about the different types of weeds I removed from my grandparents’ garden last week. It’s quite a list.

  • Dandelions. Luckily, the soil was very loose and most of them were young, so I could generally pull them up with very little effort.
  • Clover. These were fairly well-established, mostly because they like to grow right in the midst of the good plants. They were annoying to get rid of, and I think I left some roots behind
  • Grass. Stay in the lawn, grass. We don’t want you with the flowers.
  • Thistles. These were a bugger to get rid of (I had no gloves and my only tool was a three-pronged digger thingy) until I discovered something important: Thistles only have spikes on their leaves, not their stems. With this knowledge and a bit of luck, I avoided getting stabbed too much.
  • Tiny maple saplings. Nothing exciting.
  • Mushrooms 1. Brown, about an inch across the cap, normal-looking. Easy to pull.
  • Mushrooms 2. A bit funny-looking, since the cap was inverted, and teeny tiny. Again, easy to get rid of.
  • Crabgrass. SO MUCH CRABGRASS. I never want to see crabgrass again in my LIFE.
  • Unidentified. Tallish, with pointed spiralling leaves. Easy to pull.

Honorable mention: Elm saplings, and not babies like the maples. (They’re an honorable mention because I pulled them from my own garden, not grandma’s.) There’s a picture of my roommate holding one of these. It was literally at least 4 feet tall. I couldn’t uproot most of them – they were too well-established, and the biggest one was in the middle of a bush – so I hacked them down with a kitchen knife.

Aaaaaaand end the most boring blog post ever. (Although I’m sure I missed a weed or two.) Just felt I had to write something to stay in the habit. Next one will be better, I promise! Goodnight world.

Leave a comment